RVRC Show

Yesterday was our local River Valley Rabbit Club Show here in South Bend, IN.  It’s always a nice show and an easy one for us to attend since it is so close.   If you have not come to this show before, you really should give it a try!  It was really nice especially, since several of my angora friends from Illinois came with their Angora’s and Jerome was there with his.  So, there was a nice large showing of Angora’s.  I entered 6 and forgot to tattoo one of them.  Dah.

GBF’s Byrd, my senior white doe, won BOB.  It’s Byrd’s first leg, so I was very happy.  Her coat has really developed density as she has matured!  Before the show, I sold my best colored junior buck to a teen-age youth from Goshen.  I told her it was the best one I had for sale, so I was hoping he would do well for her.  Well, Reginald (as she decided to name him) did well.  He took BOS and earned his first leg.  I was very happy for Morgan.  Congratulations!

We didn’t fair as well in the Holland world yesterday, but that’s the way the ball bounces sometimes.  Carla Wilson was our Holland Judge.  GBF’s Mika did get BOSG (earning her 2nd leg) and our little 12 week old broken buck, GBF’s Chip Shot won his class and earned his first leg.  Yea!

I was especially happy for two of my youth pals.  Emily won BOS with GBF’s Penny.  Penny took 2nd at our county fair in July.  This was Emily’s first real ARBA show, so she was thrilled that her bunny did so well, and loved her big rosette.  Then Ki won BOB with one of her bunnies.  YEA to both of you!!

So, we all had a good time.

I wanted to share this picture of Emily’s little brother Ethan.  I have a little Holland that is just a bit over 4 weeks old and he seems to have developed enteritis.  Emily and her family were over to pick up a carrier for the show and we discovered the little bunny had issues.  So, we brought him in and Ethan was my little ‘vet assistant’.  He did such a good job!  I couldn’t believe it.  I gave the bunny some Neomycin and Ethan carefully syringed water into it’s little mouth.  Then did a great job of  feeding it some baby food.

Ethan feeding "Garden Vegetables" baby food to sick bunny.

Ethan feeding "Garden Vegetables" baby food to sick bunny.

I gave the little guy another dose of Neomycin last night after the show, since his diarrhea was worse.  He seems to be better this morning – no wet bottom.  But, I am cautiously optimistic.  I have seperated him from his mom and siblings and am giving him only oats, hay and baby food.  I HATE losing bunnies to enteritis and can sometimes save them.

Leave a comment